HealthQuest Blog Home

Return to Work, Return to Life, Return to Play

SALUTING OUR STAFF: JULIE SEBESTA, MPT

“Don’t judge a book by its cover,” urges Dan Garr, MPT (director of HealthQuest in Oxford), as he explains why he nominated Julie Sebesta, MPT to be our first honoree. Dan continues, “Though slight in stature, Julie can be very aggressive, as evidenced by her hands-on approach with patients who need advanced joint or soft tissue mobilization. She has a wonderful ability to relate to patients. Her rapport and compassion are reflected in the positive comments made by her patients.”

“I didn’t think I was ever going to get my arm to move again. Because of therapists like Julie, I am able to have almost full range of movement.” Ralph Scolari

“This was my first experience with physical therapy and it was great. I want to thank Julie who cared for me and made my visit here (at HealthQuest) a wonderful success.” Vincent Adragna

“Julie, my physical therapist, took a strong interest and worked with the other therapists to develop a successful program, tailored to me and my schedule. Today my lower back and shoulder are as good as new. I would recommend Julie and HealthQuest to anyone who needs rehab.” Robert Folts

As part of our salute, we take this opportunity to thank Julie for her contribution to our success. This is also our chance to learn why Julie chose physical therapy as a career path.

Julie explains, “When I was a kid, I saw The Other Side of the Mountain (a true story about a world class female skier who suffers a spinal cord injury, resulting in permanent paralysis) and knew I wanted to somehow be involved in helping people recover from serious injuries. In junior high, I followed sports and was always drawn to the TV highlights featuring rehab.”

Physical therapy was the perfect fit for Julie. She earned her masters degree in physical therapy at Oakland University and has been in practice for over 13 years. “I love what I do. It’s never boring, because there is always something new and I am always learning.”

Julie explains how effective communication impacts her patients and their treatment, “I try to observe body language and pay particular attention to hesitations. I want each patient to feel comfortable and open, so I know when something is working or if we need to go in another direction. I also always tell my patients that education is half my job; to teach them how to treat and take care of themselves.”

We are proud and grateful to have Julie as a member of the HealthQuest family.

“It’s just a fun atmosphere. I actually like coming to work,” Julie shares. “I work with really good people, the best I’ve ever worked with”

The feeling is mutual, as Dan Garr points out, “It’s been a pleasure to have Julie as a colleague and a friend.”

Written by Brooks Juneau

June 25, 2008 at 3:57 pm

Posted in Staff

