HealthQuest Blog Home

Return to Work, Return to Life, Return to Play

In Celebration of Our Patient’s Success – No Longer on the Back Burner

It seems almost second nature for mothers to put everyone else’s needs before their own. Wendy Kiefer is no exception to that rule. For over 20 years, Wendy suffered with constant, and often severe, pain.

“When you’re a mom, you take care of yourself last, so it just got progressively worse. I did window treatments for a living; cutting, sewing, measuring, and installing. It took a real toll on my back.”

It was not until her children suffered broken bones that she even consulted with a doctor about her pain. Wendy was told she had adult-onset scoliosis and continued to avoid addressing her symptoms.

Years passed and Wendy’s pain worsened. “I read about this guy in Texas who does surgery on scoliosis and went down to see him. He suggested physical therapy. I came back and ignored it some more.”

‘Some more’ turned into over a year. True to Wendy’s nurturing spirit, it was not until her mother, Jessie Fields, required physical therapy, following a near-fatal car accident, that she finally addressed her own pain.”

Wendy quit working, moved her mom into her own home and supported Jessie through rehab. Physical therapy treatment was prescribed and Wendy knew exactly where to take her mom. “I installed draperies for Steve Rabaut and knew of his wonderful reputation from some of my clients who underwent physical therapy in his care.”

Because Wendy was already there, she finally decided to take the advice of that doctor (from Texas) and try physical therapy. “A physical therapist can make a big difference and I find Steve is excellent. He released all the tension, pain and knots in my muscles. He showed me exercises and helped me with proper posture. I’ve built up my back muscles, lay on a round styrofoam device, continue with the exercises, sleep on a firmer mattress, and now the curve in my spine isn’t as bad. Steve is exceptional because he really listens.”

“Wendy presented with thoracic pain (50% – 75% of the day), constant cervical and lumbar pain,” Steve Rabaut, DPT explains. “She had a history of scoliosis and suffered with headaches seven days a week. She could not drive for more than two hours and could not walk or stand for more than 15 minutes without significant pain. Wendy’s treatment consisted of PRRT (Primal Reflex Release Technique), pelvi-femoral and postural re-education, cervical, shoulder and lumbar stabilization, and endurance training.”

“Steve worked with me on several things, including how I slept and what I slept on. So, when we put everything in a row, I live pain-free now. I used to live on Advil, to be honest with you. I don’t take any Advil now.”

Currently, Wendy takes advantage of the time her mom is in therapy by participating in our performance program. “I used to go to Lifetime Fitness, but here (at HealthQuest) they let you know if you’re doing something wrong. HealthQuest has physical therapists and trainers all over the place. If you have a question, they help you.”

Wendy and her health are no longer on the back burner. She is finally taking care of the one person she really needs to, herself.

Written by Brooks Juneau

May 25, 2008 at 3:49 pm

